What Hilary Banks and I have in Common

The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air is one of my all-time favourite sitcoms. From Carlton’s dancing, Will’s antics to Jeffery’s sarcasm I can’t seem to get enough. However I never expected that God would use an episode of this secular sitcom to further cement something that He has been trying to get me to understand for quite some time. I know it sounds a bit crazy, but hear me out.

So here’s the skinny (I really need to stop saying that), in this particular episode Hilary  had gotten the opportunity of a lifetime. Her talk show was finally going to be on network television, meaning she would have a larger audience, more fame and more money. However soon after she had filmed her first show on network television she felt seemingly empty *gasp*. After realizing that her accomplishment could not satisfy her, Hilary began to look for something else to fulfill her and eventually found herself back at square one.

To be honest Hilary and I have barely anything in common but what we both shared is the fact that we were searching for something to fulfill us. I thought that my life would be complete if I got good grades, have people like me or when I had that thing I’d been pining for. I can tell you that I have gotten a few things I had wanted but NONE of them satisfied.

While they are good, accomplishments, trophies and “things” CAN’T satisfy. I have struggled to accept this as the gains of this world are quite attractive. However I am learning to find fulfillment in Jesus. You see, once we have Christ we have a FRIEND (John 15:14-15), PROVIDER (Matt 6:28-32), DELIVERER (Ps 18:2), HOPE (Ps 39:7), JOY (Gal 5:22) and LOVE (Rom 8:35-39) among MANY other things. If you are a Christian and have a hard time grasping these claims, it’s not because they aren’t true, but maybe like myself you are distracted and searching when you already possess all that you need and more. If you don’t know Christ He is always willing to make a friend, trust in Him and cling to Him and you my friend will experience completeness.

Yes, I still have dreams and goals but I know that NONE will satisfy like Christ can. It is still a struggle for me but if I get distracted and begin searching I will remember what Jesus promised “..whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” (John 4:14) >>> ONLY Christ can truly SATISFY!

4 thoughts on “What Hilary Banks and I have in Common

Leave a Reply

