Hey! What are you eating?

My sister-in-law loves to annoy me when I am eating. I can always depend on her to walk up to me, look directly in my plate and ask in her squeaky little voice “hey! what are you eating?”Now I am so used to it, that it no longer annoys me. However I wanna flip the script a bit and ask you the same question “What are you eating?”. No! I am not talking about the chicken you ate for dinner or the sandwich you had for lunch. Instead what are you feeding your spirit?

Whether you know it or not, we feed our spirit daily. The music we listen to, the shows we watch, the conversations we have impacts the quality of our relationship with Christ. This then is oftentimes manifested subtly in how we conduct ourselves, our response to conflict and our speech. Listen! You are what you eat, so if you keep feeding your spirit with music, shows and things that promote things that go against the word of God then chances are your life will eventually follow that trend.

I have had to stop watching some TV shows, unlike a few Facebook pages and be careful of the music I listen to because they were really subtly drawing me away from Christ.  Do you feel distant from God? Then my question to you is “What are you eating?” Feed your spirit, read & meditate on the WORD of God daily, listen to music that draws you closer to Christ, stay away from shows that promote values outside of God’s word, be careful of the books you read that promote witch craft and are salacious in nature.

I leave you with this wise quote “I hold firmly to the belief that in order to be a disciple of God radical actions have to be taken to insulate ourselves against that which will subtly influence us” (Daniele Willie, 2012)

and…

Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life. (Proverbs 4:23)

Leave a Reply

