It’s Not an Easy Road

This past week found me reflecting on my walk with God. In all honesty I wasn’t happy with where I was. I kept looking towards to goal of holiness and thinking about the many times I have missed the mark. I thought “will I ever be holy?” “will I ever be at that place where God wants me to be?”

Then God stepped in and it hit me *cue random slap*, maybe I am where I need to be at this very moment (1 Thes 5:18, Ecc 3:1-15).I must note that I am not in anyway encouraging complacency. However, I have learned that Christian life is a journey that takes time. This has been a challenge for me because I am not the most patient person. I believe there is a lesson that God wants to teach me in this stage of my journey. So far, God has been teaching me humility and the beauty of waiting on Him. He has helped me to realize that my trials, temptations and failures are His way of molding me (2 Cor 4:17, Rom 8:18). This stage of seeming spiritual frustration is simply preparation for the next stage.

I know MANY of you feel discouraged in your walk with God. You feel like throwing in the towel. I am here to encourage you not to. The road is not easy, but we don’t have to walk it alone (Joshua 1:9, Isiah 41:10). Our strength comes from the God of the Universe who defeated armies of thousands (2 Cor 12:9-10, Deut 20:1, Isiah 41:13, 2 Tim 4:17)

Think of where God has brought you from, the hurdles He has caused you to overcome. You would be shocked to know the ground you’ve covered. Understand that He is molding you and when He is finished with you maturity will come (James 1:2-4). Better days are coming, maybe not as quickly as we would like it, but they will come when the time is right (James 1:12).

In the meantime let’s take this walk a day at a time, seeking His face daily and relying on His strength. Keep it real with Him, tell Him when you’re frustrated and weak. Count your blessings because they are NUMEROUS and learn as much as you can from the present knowing that God has a purpose for this stage.

Remember it’s NOT an easy road, but we have HELP and the potholes we face WILL be worth it…

Leave a Reply

