Food 4 Thought: Trials

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” (James 1:2-4)

These verses really speak to me when I am going through a rough period . They are not  saying that in the midst of your struggles you should smile and celebrate. In truth even Jesus expressed grief before His crucifixion (Matt 26:36-44). However these verses are a means of encouragement, that as Christians we don’t have to be hopeless, because in our weakness God remains strong. Instead our problems should be viewed as a step closer to holiness, wholeness, righteousness and fulfillment in Christ. God says when perseverance is finished you will become mature and COMPLETE, lacking nothing (James 1:4).

As weird as this sounds, I give thanks for my trials because I really don’t think I would have learnt and appreciated all that I have, had it not been for those experiences. Listen, God wants to use your situation as a powerful testimony and ministry so there is hope in sight. I know all too well that it’s not as easy as it sounds, but remember the same God that multiplied 5 loaves and 2 fish to feed the crowd of 5000 is the same God that you serve and if He can do that, imagine what He can do through your situation.

Leave a comment